Skip to main content

TJSL Shines at Earl B. Gilliam Bar Association Awards Dinner

November 15, 2011

EBGBA Dinner
EBGBA Dinner
EBGBA Dinner

The Earl B. Gilliam Bar Association’s 35th Annual Awards & Scholarship Dinner was a shining night for Thomas Jefferson School of Law.

“With three faculty members, four senior staff, nine students, three scholarship award winners, and several alumni in attendance, it was an extraordinarily successful event for the law school,” said Associate Dean for Student Affairs Beth Kransberger.

TJSL’s three scholarship recipients were Antionette Scott, Kim Carter and Allyson Evans, all three of whom are not only excellent students, but very active in campus organizations.

Others in attendance were Professors Maurice Dyson, Bill Slomanson and Richard Winchester, along with Dean Kransberger, Admissions Director Tim Spearman, Associate Career Services Director Randy Reliford and Associate Director of Admissions Michelle Allison.  Among the alumni who attended was TJSL graduate District Attorney Bonnie Dumanis ’76.

The current president of the EBGBA is TJSL alumna Valoree Wortham ’93 and the Master of Ceremonies was TJSL Trustee Randy Jones, who is an Assistant U.S. Attorney here in San Diego.

“A huge thanks is due to Randy Reliford and Tim Spearman who served on the event planning committee,” said Dean Kransberger.  “The leadership TJSL has shown with the Earl B. Gilliam Bar Association was evident and on full display.  Everyone should be proud of the progress TJSL has made and the leadership position it now holds here in San Diego County.”

The late Earl B. Gilliam was the first African‐American judge on the San Diego Superior Court bench and had the same distinction later on the on the U.S. District Court in San Diego. He was also an adjunct professor at Thomas Jefferson School of Law in its early years.  The EBGBA “strives to honor Judge Gilliam’s legacy of community service.”

Congratulations to TJSL’s three scholarship recipients!