Skip to main content

TJSL’s International Law Society Wins Best All-Around Chapter Award

May 6, 2011

ILS Chapter Award

TJSL has once again scored a first: this time, for being the best All Around Chapter Award among all student International Law Societies in the United States. This award is bestowed by the International Law Students Association, the organization, that on behalf of the American Society of International Law, runs the worldwide Jessup Moot Court program.

ILSA Board Member Robert  Palmer says, “There were a number of highly qualified schools that were nominated this year for the various ILSA awards. It was extremely difficult to choose the award winners but Thomas Jefferson School of Law stood out as the winner in this category based on what the school has done in the international arena this past year.”

“It feels great to end my term of service with this distinction for our school and our ILS chapter,” Said ILS President Ben Aguilar. “I devoted endless hours to this student organization and it was all worth it because many of our constituents benefited from the programming we brought to TJSL. ILS is now one of the most active student organizations on and off campus. Our hard work has been recognized on campus by the student body voting us student organization/president of the year, in the SD community by the continuous support of many of the most prominent legal organizations in town, and nationally by this recognition from ILSA.”

ILS Faculty Advisor Professor William Slomanson is increedibly proud of his team:

“This is the ideal opportunity to esspecially thank ILS President Ben Aguilar, who did a magnificent job at the helm of the ILS, during this last academic year. Among the other successes to his credit, he made the ILS’s signature Monte Carlo event one to remember. And of course, congratulations for a job well done to each member of this very special team. You’ve made TJSL proud!”

The ILSA article can be found at

Please congratulate the following students, for their roles in making this happen:

Ben Aguilar – President, Matt Hutcheson – VP, Tristan Younghaus – Secretary ,Matt Odgers –
Treasurer, David Sanchez – Community Outreach Coordinator