Barristers Ball 2011

2011 A. Thomas Golden – Alumnus of the Year Award:

Jon H. Epsten '82


1L Professor of the Year:

A. Thomas Golden


2L Professor of the Year:

Leah Christensen


3L Professor of the Year:

Kaimipono Wenger


Adjunct Professor of the Year:

Jeff Joseph


Lewis & Clark Award:

Communications Department

Lewis & Clark Award:

Professor Susan Tiefenbrun


Staff Member of the Year:

Lisa Ferreira


Staff Member of the Year:

Beth Kransberger


Student Organization President of the Year (Student Vote):

Ben Aguilar, International Law Society


Student Organization President of the Year (Presidents Vote):

Elizabeth Knowles, Public Interest Law Foundation


Lifetime Achievement Award:

Dean Rudy Hasl 


By Ryan Ciriaco, 2L, SBA Social Events Director

If someone were to ask me to describe the 2011 Barrister’s Ball in one word, it would have to be “elegant.”  When attendees stepped foot inside the beautiful Westgate Hotel, they were transported to another world.  The antique, yet chic décor underscored the theme of the evening which was inspired by the 1920’s and F. Scott Fitzgerald’s timeless classic The Great Gatsby.

The evening could not have been more beautiful.  Thanks to the immaculate weather, students, faculty, staff, and alumni were able to enjoy the cocktail hour under the stars on the third-floor rooftop terrace.  After an hour of schmoozing and enjoying a few cocktails and hors d’oeuvres, guests were directed to the event tent, which was adorned with string bulb lights, chandeliers, and uplighting in Thomas Jefferson’s signature blue.  Shortly after everyone found their seats, the awards ceremony began.

This year’s show was a slight departure from past show formats, much to the delight of everyone in attendance.  The show format was inspired by award shows like the SAG Awards and the Golden Globes.  The program started with a monologue by SBA Social Events Director and emcee Ryan Ciriaco.  Aside from welcoming everyone to the Ball, he threw in a few clever jokes and quips about the differences between the old and new campus.

The annual Barrister’s Ball is held to honor outstanding achievements by faculty, staff, and student leaders as well as celebrate the successes of the previous year…and what a year it was.  During a year that marked big changes and even bigger steps towards building a bright future for the Thomas Jefferson School of Law, the Student Bar Association, with the help of Professor Randy Grossman, Henry Coker and Bonnie Dumanis, honored Dean Rudy Hasl with the Lifetime Achievement Award for the amazing work he has done over his 30+ years as a law school dean.  An emotional Dean Hasl reminded us all that it is the students that drive him to do what he does on a daily basis.  It is because of visionary deans like Rudy Hasl that Thomas Jefferson is among the best up and coming law schools in the nation.

Once the dinner and awards concluded, the party began!  Attendees were ushered to the after party which took up the entire second floor.  Coffee and desserts were served in one room while people danced the night away in another room.  Attendees even had the chance to commemorate the evening at the free photo booth!

All in all, the 2011 Barrister’s Ball could not have been more of a success. Many people in attendance expressed that this was one of the best Barrister’s Balls in the history of the school.  There is one problem, however, that surfaced from this year’s Barrister’s Ball: How is the SBA going to top this next year?

Past A. Thomas Golden Alumnus/a of the Year Award Recipients

Lori Westin '042010, Wilson, Sonsini, Goodrich & Rosati

Frank Mead '002009, Tiffany & Bosco

Hon. Browder Willis '832008, San Diego County Superior Court

Philip Shapiro '852007, Shapiro & Clamon

Hon. Lillian Lim '772006, San Diego County Superior Court

Randy Grossman '942005, Law Offices of Randy Grossman

Denise Asher '022004 Inaugural Year, Asher Mediation