Skip to main content
Two blonde women smiling at the camera at an indoor event, each holding a crystal trophy

Distinguished Jurists Honored at Thomas Jefferson School of Law’s 14th Annual Judicial Mixer and Alumni Awards Reception

November 27, 2023

Thomas Jefferson School of Law is proud to honor Justice Joan Irion and Honorable Renee Stackhouse with the 2023 Judicial Service Award and Outstanding Service to the Community Award, respectively.

These remarkable women were recognized at the event for their achievements and contributions to the legal profession as well as the San Diego community.  Their demonstrated commitment includes not only significant volunteer work, but also a reputation of making a positive impact on future generations of lawyers.

In presenting the awards, TJSL Alumni Association President Salim Khawaja and past-President Ian Blair noted that it is Justice Irion’s own sense of responsibility that motivates her to give back and believes it is partly her responsibility as a jurist to make sure the legal system works for the people.

With a similar conviction, esteemed alumni Hon. Renee Stackhouse has achieved extraordinary personal success and has also given back to the Law School in meaningful ways including serving as both a President of the TJSL Alumni Association President and presently as a Law School Trustee.  Her consistent dedication to the community and the Law School made her an excellent choice for the Award.

Chairman Grossman, President Sherr, Dean Keller, many alumni and students were on hand for the event.

Thomas Jefferson School of Law congratulates and celebrates these exceptional individuals.  This event highlights the Law School’s commitment to excellence and the enduring impact our alumni have on its continued success.

Four adults and one child pose with the crystal trophies won by the two women in the center.
(L to R) Dean Linda, Keller, Hon. Renee Stackhouse and her child, Justice Joan Irion, President Karin Sherr
(L to R) TJSL Alumni Association President Salim Khawaja, TJSL Alumni Association Past-President Ian Blair, Hon. Renee Stackhouse, President Karin Sherr, Dean Linda Keller.
(L to R) TJSL Alumni Association President Salim Khawaja, President Karin Sherr, Justice Joan Irion, Dean Linda Keller, TJSL Alumni Association Past-President Ian Blair.
TJSL Alumni Association Directors Ray Warner (1999), Jennifer McCollough (2013), President Salim Khawaja (1993), Past President Ian Blair (2018), and Ekta Shah (2022)