Skip to main content

National Sports Law Negotiation Competition & Symposium 2011

September 23, 2011


Thomas Jefferson School of Law

Friday, September 23, 2011 – Sunday, September 25, 2011

NSLNC 2011 Brochure

Inaugural NSLNC Scores Big Win with Participants

Center for Sports Law and Policy

Congratulations to the NSLNC 2011 Champion Southwestern Law School team of Jennifer Callen and Timothy Sutton and Runner-Up University of California, Hastings College of the Law team of Kathryn Miller and Billy Hileman. 


  1. California Western School of Law (2 Teams)
  2. Fordham University School of Law
  3. George Mason University School of Law 
  4. The John Marshall Law School (2 Teams)
  5. Marquette University Law School
  6. New York Law School
  7. Pace University Law School 
  8. Santa Clara University Law School 
  9. Southwestern Law School (2 Teams)
  10. University of California Hastings College of the Law (2 Teams)
  11. UCLA School of Law (2 Teams)
  12. University of Michigan Law School
  13. University of San Diego School of Law
  14. University of Virginia School of Law
  15. Whittier Law School

2011 COMPETITION NOTES – Weekend Itinerary

Competition Rules/Judge’s Score Sheet & “General Facts” for Rounds One (1) & Two (2), and the Final Round:

  1. Competition Rules & Judge’s Score Sheet 
  2. Round One (1) “General Facts”
    1. Round One (1) General Facts Inquiries (Questions & Answers)
    2. Round One (1) Confidential Facts for Clayton Kershaw
    3. Round One (1) Confidential Facts for FRS
    4. Round One (1) Judge’s Summary 
  3. Round Two (2) “General Facts”
    1. Round Two (2) General Facts Inquiries (Questions & Answers)
    2. Round Two (2) Confidential Facts for the City of Los Angeles
    3. Round Two (2) Confidential Facts for the Minnesota Vikings
    4. Round Two (2) Judge’s Summary 
  4. Final Round “General Facts”
    1. Final Round Confidential Facts for the Boston Celtics
    2. Final Round Confidential Facts for the Denver Nuggets
    3. Final Round Judge’s Summary 
  5. Round One (1) & Two (2) Match-Ups (Each A1-A10 and B1-B10 team code number represents an individual team from each law school, which were sent to the teams privately.  Each panel number represents an internal designation of each set of three judges). 
  6. Judges List for Rounds 1, 2, and the Final Round 


(NSLNC Competitors admission included in registration fee)

Sunday, September 25, 2011  12:30 – 2:45 p.m. at Thomas Jefferson School of Law

12:00 – 12:30 p.m. Registration outside of room 325 (lunch and refreshments provided)

12:30 – 1:30 p.m. Panel 1: “Negotiating Contracts on behalf of Professional Athletes”

Panelists include:

  • Brian Hannula, Esq., The Law Office of Brian M. Hannula
  • Craig Fenech, Esq., Law Offices of Craig E. Fenech; Sports Lawyers Association Board of Director
  • Vered N. Yakovee, Esq., Law Offices of Vered N. Yakovee; Editor-in-Chief of Entertainment & Sports Lawyer; Sports Law Lecturer at USC Gould School of Law
  • Barry Axelrod, Esq., Sports & Entertainment Lawyer

1:30 – 1:45 p.m. Break

1:45 – 2:45 p.m. Panel 2: “Handling and Avoiding Major Infractions in Big-time Athletic Programs: What can we learn from USC, Miami and Ohio State”

Panelists Include:

  • Professor Rodney Smith, Director of TJSL Center of Sports Law & Policy
  • Brian Adkins, Esq., Soden & Steinberger, LLP
  • Earl Edwards, Athletic Director at University of California San Diego
  • Jeff Levine, Esq., The Law Offices of Singer Pistiner, P.C.

Moderator: Randy Grossman, Esq., The Law Offices of Randy M. Grossman


Director: Jeremy M. Evans ’11 (

Alumni Advisor: Brandon Leopoldus ’10  

Sports Law/Adjunct Faculty Advisor: Randy Grossman ’94

Center for Sports Law & Policy Advisor: Rodney Smith

ADR Faculty Advisor: Paul Spiegelman