News & Media

You are here

Successful Fifth Annual National Sports Law Negotiation

Published: October 01, 2015
 Fifth Annual National Sports Law Negotiation Competition
Fifth Annual National Sports Law Negotiation Competition

The Center for Sports Law & Policy at Thomas Jefferson School of Law hosted the Fifth Annual National Sports Law Negotiation Competition on Friday through Sunday, September 25-27, 2015. 

The Competition weekend began Friday evening with a Welcome Mixer on the 8th floor roof-top of the Law School. At the Friday night mixer, Retired Professor Paul J. Spiegelman was recognized with a service award for his help in getting the competition started. The NSLNC Board was very appreciative for his efforts and service over the years.

On Saturday, 40 teams from 25 different law schools competed in the sports negotiation competition, ranging from New York to South Dakota, to San Diego. For the Preliminary Rounds on Saturday, roughly 60 different judges were utilized, including 15 Thomas Jefferson Alumni, as well as Thomas Jefferson Professors Sam Bettwy, Marybeth Herald, Anders Kaye, Rebecca Lee, Steve Semeraro, Ellen Waldman and Ken Vandevelde. From the bench, the Honorable Mitch Dembin, and retired judges John Hargrove, David Moon, and Victor Bianchini joined NSLNC 2015. Competition Judges also included an Athletic Director, a Dean from a Canadian Law School, sports agents, sports and entertainment attorneys, public attorneys and representatives, and several who flew from across the County to judge. After the Preliminary Rounds, all teams and judges were invited to the 8th floor roof-top for a reception and announcement of the four finalist teams.  Southwestern School of Law took home the Championship Trophy, followed by two teams from California Western School of Law, and Chapman University School of Law, who finished in Third Place. Alumnus Sam Ehrlich '14 wrote the three negotiation problems, with assistance from the Sports Law fellows with the Center for Sports Law & Policy. Alumnus Brandon Leopoldus '10 reviewed the competition problems. Alumnus Jeremy Evans '11, Director for the Center on Sports Law and Policy, who founded the competition with Leopoldus in 2011, oversaw all aspects of the competition from top to bottom. Faculty Advisor Randy Grossman '94, who assists in recruiting judges for the Competition, said "Thank you to the judges for their invaluable assistance and participation! Also, a special thanks to Events Coordinator Kathryn Markey for her assistance with organizing the logistics for the event."  The Championship Rounds on Sunday were judged by Ari Segal, Front Office Executive for the NHL Anaheim Ducks and President of Business Operations with the AHL San Diego Gulls; Tom Seidler, from the San Diego Padres Ownership Group; and Judge David Danielsen, the Presiding Judge of the San Diego Superior Court.   

The National Sports Law Negotiation Competition is internationally recognized and respected as one of the best of its kind.  Kay Elliott, Faculty Advisor for the Texas A&M University School of Law competition teams said: “You will definitely see us next year! This was one of the best organized, pleasant, and interesting of the many competitions we have done! Congratulations to your team – you rock.  I will always remember the final reception with a full moon and a view of the Coronado bridge, the Bay and downtown San Diego – just beautiful!!” Congratulations to all of the participants and winners. 

View the NSLNC CSLP 2015 Brochure.